Meeting Register Page

Regional Safety Task Force Meeting
Please join us for the next Regional Safety Task Force (RSTF) meeting, which will be devoted to the Safe System principle, "Responsibility is Shared," continuing our focus on the Safe System approach to traffic safety. Guest speakers will discuss the principle of shared responsibility in the Safe System approach between roadway owners and the users of the system.

Each RSTF meeting focuses on a critical road safety issue facing the Philadelphia region. These topics are selected from the Transportation Safety Analysis & Plan (TSAP)⏤the road safety plan for the Philadelphia region. 

We are pleased to welcome the following panelists to present on shared responsibility in the Safe System approach:

Sharang Malaviya, Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (and RSTF co-chair)
Sharang Malaviya serves as the Traffic Safety Supervisor at PennDOT.  Sharang and the safety team oversee the design, construction, and maintenance of systemic low-cost safety countermeasures and capital safety improvement projects in the greater Philadelphia region.  Sharang will present the safety team’s work on rapid response projects to address safety concerns in District 6-0.

Duwan Morris, Montgomery County (Maryland) Department of Transportation
Duwan Morris brings over 12 years of transportation experience to his current position as a Transportation Planner at Montgomery County DOT and coordinator of the Montgomery County Safe Routes to School program. Duwan will be presenting on Montgomery County’s highly successful Vision Zero Youth Ambassador Program, which has grown from 6 to 30 student ambassadors since the program’s inception.

After the presentations and Q&A, RSTF members will break into groups to discuss strategies to advance the shared responsibility principle in the region.

Dec 6, 2022 01:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

* Required information